March With Me

A consistent message from Black Dogs & Blue Skies has been Never Give Up.

The latest instalment was all about giving yourself a focus.

Well, with my latest adventure I will need to have the words Never Give Up writ large in my mind, and plenty of support.

And focus.

So what is the focus of my attention for the next 11 weeks?

Walking.

On March 4 & 5, I am going for a little stroll… 116km from Portsea to Port Melbourne to be precise.

You’re WHAT!!! (Tin roof… rusted)

Trust me, I hear ya.

Why would I do that?

Why would ANYONE do that?

Focus?

Yes, and no. Yes, but it is bigger than someone’s focus. No, it is not that simple.

Neither is life simple for a young person struggling with mental health issues, substance abuse, an eating disorder or other life hardships. It can be a struggle of monumental proportions, but there is help and hope for today’s youth.

Love Me Love You is a not-for-profit organisation whose mission is “Empowering young adults to reach their potential in life” and March With Me is their signature event that is growing legs every year.

March with Me brings to life the essence of what Love Me Love You strive to deliver, that “No one person should ever travel their journey alone”.

My part in March With Me, to complement the walking, is to raise funds to support the engaging and interactive programs that Love Me Love You delivers that challenge the views and stigmas surrounding youth mental health.

This is where you guys come in, and there are a few ways you can help.

  • Naturally donations are at the top of the list. Click on the fundraising link to my March With Me Everyday Hero page. I have set myself a fair challenge to raise $5k so the more supporters that commit will make all the difference – sponsor a lump sum or per kilometre, anything and everything will help.
  • Join me on the walk. There are single day and half-day options available and you can register here and you can join the Black Dogs and Blue Skies team here
  • Share this post on Facebook, via email or any other outlet that can get the word out and build awareness of how Love Me Love You is working to support young people experiencing mental health issues.

I will let you know how I am tracking on the Black Dogs & Blue Skies Facebook page over the next few months and will keep you updated during the walk before I start hallucinating.

Remember, there are some out there that struggle to just put one foot in front of the other day to day. Before that, just getting out of bed is a struggle, a frightening struggle that many do not understand unless they have been there.

I don’t want to see young people face such struggles and challenges.

Your donations will help with the prevention, intervention and education programs of Love Me Love You that empower young adults to Get Back to School, Back to Sport, Back to Life.

So, there is my focus for now, that and getting a job, and I really do hope you can help me stand up, step forward and make a difference with Love Me Love You

Never Give Up.

One hundred and sixteen. Kilometers. Walking.

Never Give Up.

What the hell have I done?

Never Give Up.

lmly-mwm

If you are struggling, please talk to someone. Anyone.Call Lifeline on 13 11 14, Kids Helpline on 1800 155 1800, MensLine Australia on 1300 789 978 or check out beyondblue.org.au for more resources. In emergencies, please call 000

Leave a Reply

